A celebration of early music in July. Founder: Vanessa Coode

Landscape of Haydn

Kruger Quartet

Landscape of Haydn

Performance date: 28th June 2017, 7:30-8.30pm

This programme follows the development of Haydn’s quartet writing from his first quartet written at the age of 29 to his last, written at 71.

Tickets £12, £10 concessions. Buy on the door, from Bridgewood and Neitzert at 146 Stoke Newington Church St, or on-line at wegottickets.com (with a 10% booking fee)


Helen Kruger & John Crockatt violins
Nichola Blakey viola
Carina Drury cello

  • HaydnString Quartet in E flat major Op 1 No 1
  • HaydnString Quartet in C major Op 33 No 3
  • HadynString Quartet in D minor Op 103

Haydn’s first string quartet, Op.1 No.1 in Eb Major was written 20 years before his Op.33 No.3 in C Major, one of the Russian Quartets (1781) . A further 20 years on we have Haydn’s Op.103 which he allowed to be published as incomplete as he was too ill to finish it; “Gone is all my strength, old and weak am I”


The Kruger Quartet came together in 2014 for their love of Classical Quartet repertoire and, to be honest, also their shared love of cake!
Their core repertoire consists of the works of Mozart, Haydn & Beethoven and they use period instruments and bows. Inspired by Marc Destrube’s quartet Microcosmos, the Kruger Quartet gives audiences an up close and personal experience with this repertoire, performing in smaller spaces such as living rooms, galleries and intimate concert halls.